

## WESSEX MEDICAL TRUST ("WMT")

## SCIENTIFIC/PEER REVIEW OF GRANT APPLICATIONS

- All applications in a grant round are initially reviewed and anonymised by the Chair of the Scientific Advisory Committee (the "Committee") who then allocates each application for detailed review to at least three members of the Committee depending on their areas of expertise.
- 2 Following review, the applications are ranked and then discussed by the full Committee with Committee members indicating if they wish the score to be adjusted up or down by 1. Following this review, scores are adjusted by the average adjustment across all members and applications are re-ranked. All new members of the Committee are required to sign a copy of the WMT Conflicts of Interest policy. Committee members with conflicts of interest must declare these at the beginning of the relevant meeting and absent themselves when the appropriate applications are discussed. If the Chair of the Committee is applying for funding, they must absent themselves for the whole of the relevant meeting; if they have a conflict for any other reason, they should declare their interest and absent themselves for the specific item. For the duration of any such absences, the Committee will elect a temporary Chair from among the members present.

3 The Committee is comprised of:

Professor Nick Evans Faculty of Medicine, University of Southampton

Chair

Dr Nisreen Alwan Faculty of Medicine, University of Southampton
Dr Jeremy Blaydes Faculty of Medicine, University of Southampton
Dr Claire Clarkin Faculty of Environmental and Life Sciences.

University of Southampton

Dr Jana Kreppner Faculty of Environmental and Life Sciences,

University of Southampton

Professor Deborah Mackay Faculty of Medicine, University of Southampton Professor Sumeet Mahajan Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences,

University of Southampton

Professor Tiina Roose Faculty of Engineering and Physical Sciences,

University of Southampton

Professor Tilman Sanchez-Elsner

Professor Jon Strefford

Dr Will Tapper

Dr Dawn-Marie Walker

Faculty of Medicine, University of Southampton Faculty of Medicine, University of Southampton

Faculty of Medicine, University of Southampton Faculty of Environmental and Life Sciences,

University of Southampton

Dr Yihua Wang Faculty of Environmental and Life Sciences,

University of Southampton

As a general principle, steps should be taken to avoid occasions where a majority of the Committee have received awards during their term of office.

4 In addition, the Trustees appoint three expert Assessors (the "Assessors") who are external to the University of Southampton. The current Assessors are:

Professor Hilary Critchley

Professor Neil Hanley

Dr Dario Carugo

University of Edinburgh
University of Manchester
University College London

- One third of the members of the Committee (other than the Chair) together with one of the Assessors are rotated at least every three years. Retiring members are then eligible for reappointment for a second period of three years following which they must stand down. Nobody is normally permitted to hold office for more than six years and once retired, they cannot be re-appointed to the Committee within three years. New members of the Committee are appointed proportionately from those Faculties which benefit most from the receipt of WMT grants and each undergoes an induction process.
- 6 If any member of the Committee feels unqualified to judge a particular application, he/she is asked to seek advice from a colleague who possesses the relevant expertise.
- 7 All members of the Committee are required to have undertaken training in accordance with the University of Southampton's Equality and Diversity Policy.
- 8 Following ranking based on the review by members of the Committee, an overall initial ranking schedule is then co-ordinated by the Chair and passed to WMT.
- 9 For Grants of £50,000 or more, WMT then sends the preferred applications for external peer review by at least two independent experts. The results of the peer review process are considered by the Chair who recommends (a) preferred application(s) to WMT.
- 10 WMT passes the schedule of co-ordinated rankings, together with the Chair's recommendations, copies of all the original applications and, where appropriate, copies of the external peer reviews, to the three Assessors who are asked to certify that the ranking is appropriate with regard to both scientific quality and suitability to the published research priorities of the University of Southampton. The Assessors have the authority to adjust the initial ranking following this review.
- 11 At least one of the Assessors will be invited to meet with the Trustee Board each year.
- 12 Based on the advice received through this process the WMT Trustees make a final decision on the award of (a) grant(s). They will ensure however that at no time are current members of the Committee the beneficiaries of a majority of outstanding grants made by WMT.